Willamette University, Students at the Mill Stream

College of Law News

Former Willamette employee establishes new law scholarship

Dean Symeon C. Symeonides, Clyde B. Spence and Interim-President Larry Large

Clyde B. Spence, a Korean War veteran who worked at Willamette University for 15 years, recently established a $100,000 scholarship fund to support the College of Law. The Clyde B. and Constance B. Spence College of Law Veterans Scholarship Fund will provide financial support to first-year law students who are veterans of the U.S. military. He also established a separate $50,000 scholarship for the College of Liberal Arts.

Read more

Law professors recognized for teaching and scholarship excellence

Paul Diller, Symeon Symeonides, Kathy Graham and Richard Hagedorn

Three College of Law professors were honored in mid-April at Willamette University’s Annual Faculty Awards Ceremony. Kathy T. Graham, Richard B. Hagedorn and Paul A. Diller were among the 10 professors who received awards for their scholarship, leadership, service and teaching excellence.

Graham and Hagedorn were co-recipients of the Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching, which celebrates distinguished teaching and leadership by a faculty member. Diller received the Robert L. Misner Award, which recognizes excellence in faculty scholarship.

Read more

Outstanding law mentors honored

In early April, the College of Law held a reception to honor the many dedicated attorneys and judges who serve as mentors to Willamette law students. This year, two outstanding mentors were co-honored as Mentor of the Year.

Alumnae Shenoa L. Payne JD‘08 and Kristen (Gienger) Williams BA'99, JD‘05 received the 2009–10 Judge Edward H. Howell Mentor of the Year Award. This is the first year both Payne and Williams participated in the law school's program. However, both were lauded by their mentees for far exceeding the students’ expectations.

Read more

Student pro bono award winners announced Jonathan Strauhal with Dean Symeon C. Symeonides

On April 8, the College of Law hosted the Eighth Annual Pro Bono Honors Program awards reception to recognize those law students who volunteered their time and services to pro bono activities and community service projects during the previous 12-month period.

The high point of the reception was the presentation of the Col. Rupert E. Park Jr. Pro Bono Student of the Year Award to third-year student Jonathan Strauhal, who dedicated 388.5 hours of service to the school's Clinical Law Program and the Willamette University Public Interest Law Project.

In total, Willamette’s law students volunteered 3,071 hours of their time to a wide range of worthy causes and organizations.

Read more