Willamette University, Students at the Mill Stream

Alumni award winners announced

We have four phenomenal alumni award winners this year, and each reflects the ideals of the awards themselves: being constructive members of their communities and industries, and supporting meaningfully the university, its mission and its people. Our honorees are as follows:

Dale Mortensen '61, for timely and pioneering work in economics that resulted, late last year, in a Nobel Prize in Economics

Dorr Dearborn '61, for many years of leading-edge medical research and a pattern of productivity, starting in the mid-1990s, that continues to change the way we think of certain infant-related health challenges

Peter Kremer '62, for decades of contributions — in time, energy, financial resources and otherwise — to Willamette and to the communities and organizations he has led

Scott Tomlins '01, for making immediate and remarkable contributions to science, collecting dozens of publications and taking his spot at the forefront of contemporary cancer and medicinal research

We, along with the alumni board of directors, are thrilled to be able to showcase such prolific and accomplished alumni. Visit the new alumni awards website for pictures and much more information on this year's winners, as well as information on past winners and the chance to nominate next year's recipients.