Willamette University, Students at the Mill Stream

2011 Faculty Award winners announced

Each year Willamette recognizes those faculty who are raising the bar; with so many new additions to faculty rosters over the last five years, the faculty awards are a good way to get to know some of the phenomenal teachers and scholars who are already making waves in their departments -- as well as, of course, revisit WU "veterans" who continue to step it up year after year.

Lawrence D. Cress Award for Excellence in Faculty Scholarship
This award recognizes the important relationship between research and the undergraduate experience and often involves joint faculty-student research, so that there is a seamless connection between the scholarship and teaching enterprise.

Rick Watkins, College of Liberal Arts, Physics

Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching
This award celebrates distinguished teaching and leadership by a faculty member.
Lisbeth Claus, Atkinson Graduate School of Management

Keith Cunningham-Parmeter, College of Law

Colin Starr, College of Liberal Arts, Mathematics

United Methodist Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service
This honor celebrates not only the extraordinary impact a professor can have inside the classroom; it also recognizes the dramatic role a faculty member can have with our community.

Jill Bryant, Graduate School of Education

Karen Arabas, College of Liberal Arts, Environmental & Earth Sciences

Robert L. Misner Award

This award was established in memory of former College of Law Dean and Professor Robert L. Misner in recognition of his innumerable contributions to the College of Law and his commitment to faculty excellence.

Laura Appleman, College of Law

Student Awards:
Professor of the Year

This award is presented by Mortar Board to a member of the CLA faculty chosen by the College of Liberal Arts students.

Allison Hobgood, College of Liberal Arts, English