Bearcats Dominate All-NWC Teams; McGuirk Named Top Men and Women's Coach

Spokane, WA- Willamette University cross country Coach Matt McGuirk was named Northwest Conference Coach of the Year for both men’s and women’s cross country. It marks the second straight year McGuirk earned the honor for men’s cross country.

Willamette won its fourth straight men’s cross country title and its third straight women’s title at the NWC championships last weekend in Spokane.

The Bearcats placed eight runners on the 1st Team All-NWC squad. For the men’s team: Aaron Hollingshead (1st place), Travis Harris (4), Ian Batch (5), Nathan O’Brien (6), and Nick Symmonds (7). For the women’s team: Sarah Zerzan (4), Molly Phimister (5), and Katie Pierce (6).

Second Team All-NWC athletes from Willamette are Carlos Ruiz (9), Brendan Brown (10), Daniel Yaeger (13), Kari Holbert (9), and Danya Rumore (12).

Twenty-three Bearcat runners were named Academic All-Conference Athletes (9 men, 14 women). In order to receive this honor, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Willamette’s Academic All-Conference Student-Athletes are: Boyd Wyatt, Josh Butler, Travis Harris, Joe Kaczmarek, Ben Leipzig, Carlos Ruiz, Jamie Timbrell, Daniel Yaeger, and Ben Zeiger for the men.

For the women: Constance Adler, Alicia Andrews, Ellen Beebe, Molly Brady, Amy Coulter, Elizabeth Hart, Natalie Muren, Molly Phimister, Katie Pierce, Danya Rumore, Lauren Sherwood, Audrey Squires, Juline Walker, and Bobbi Wright made the NWC All-Academic Team.

The cumulative GPA of the Bearcat competitors for the NWC Championship meet was 3.5 (men) and 3.6 (women).

Matt McGuirk

Matt McGuirk