Willamette Athletics Hall of Fame Class Announced

Salem, Ore. — Willamette University announced inductees for its Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2005 today, which included three former athletes and two former Bearcat coaches.

The induction ceremony is set for March 4, 2006. Time and location will be announced at a later date.

The Class of 2005 includes:

Dave Fleming ’81
Fleming starred in cross country and track while at Willamette, twice earning NAIA all-America honors including a 2nd place finish in the 5000 meters at the 1980 NAIA Championships. He also was a five time Northwest Conference individual champion. Fleming was a member of the 1979 Willamette cross country team which was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001.

Mea (Frantz) Neal ’94
Margaret Elizabeth Ashley (MEA) Frantz was a three-sport standout for the Bearcats from 1990-94. She was the 1992 NAIA javelin champion and earned NAIA track all-America honors in 1991, 1992 and 1994. Frantz also was an all-Conference performer in volleyball and a four-year participant in basketball.

Ron Jensen ’70
Jensen was a two-time all-American in the decathlon, placing fifth at the 1969 NAIA Championships, and also captured the Northwest Conference shot put title in 1970, Jensen also was a member of the 1968 Bearcats football program which was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1993. Jensen went on to coach track at Chemeketa Community College, Idaho State and internationally in China and Australia. He also founded the Salem Track Club.

Russ Beaton
Beaton coached tennis at Willamette from 1982-1998, winning the NAIA District II title nine straight years from 1986-94. His teams or individual players qualified for the NAIA post season tournament 13 of his 17 years coaching tennis. Beaton, a 1960 Willamette graduate, was also a standout on the Bearcats golf team, earning all-Conference honors three of his four seasons.

Dan Hawkins
Hawkins coached the Bearcats football program from 1993-1997, posting an overall record of 40-12-1. He led Willamette to two Conference titles and to the NAIA quarter finals in 1996 and to the championship game in 1997. Hawkins was named Conference coach of the year three times. Hawkins moved on to coach at Boise State in 1997, taking over as head coach in 2001.

For more information on the Hall of Fame and to view previous inductees, visit the Hall of Fame web site.

Hall of Fame