Bearcat Men Finish Second and Women finish Third in Charles Bowles Invitational

SALEM, OR — Even the weather cooperated as 77 teams and 1300 runners raced around Bush Park at the 31st Annual Charles Bowles Invitational Cross Country meet hosted by Willamette University Saturday.

With the growing number of teams and runners — especially Division I schools — two races were added this year to bring the total to six.

“This was a great day today. The sun even came out for a while. We had lots of new teams and new runners and lots of positive comments about the races. We want to keep this race growing,” said Willamette Head Coach Matt McGuirk. “we’re really pleased to see the interest of Division I teams and we hope they keep coming back.”

In the College Division, featuring teams from Division II, Division III and NAIA, Chico State University swept both the men’s and women’s races. The Bearcat men’s team finished second overall, while the Bearcat women finished third.

Chico State captured the top six places in the men’s race, led by Charlie Serrano (24.22.55), Beau Bettinger (24.27.75) and Antonio Miramontes (24:29.15). Willamette finished second. The University of Victoria was third, followed by St. John’s University of Minnesota and Southern Oregon University.

The top Willamette runner was Scott Overby (pictured above) who finished 10th with a time of 24:52.60. Nick Symmonds finished 13th in 25:04.45. Other top Bearcat finishers included Ian Batch (16th, 25.11.70), Tristan Knutson-Lombardo (22nd, 25:15.90) and Carlos Ruiz (42nd, 25:42.05). Josh Clugh, Josh Edson and Wyatt Boyd finished as a pack in 44th-46th place.

“I’m pleased with the way our men ran today. We had a couple of guys who have performed better, but our second group of runners ran a very solid race against a very, very good Chico State team,” said McGuirk.

In the women’s race, Jennifer James (17:49.75), Missy Lendl (17:52.25) and Katie Lee (17:58.00 ), all from Chico State, finished in the top three spots. Following Chico State in the team standings were the University of British Columbia, Willamette, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Central Washington.

Willamette’s Sarah Zerzan finished 13th in 18:29.40. Alison Maki was next for Willamette in 29th place (18:51.60). Other Bearcat finishers included Maddie Coffman (38th, 18:57.85), Lauren Sherwood (50th, 19:06.40), Ashley Sharratt (53rd, 19:07.90) and Liz Hart (59th, 19:13.25).

“Sarah Zerzan ran another very good race and then we had a group of younger runners really come through today. At one point late in the race, we had three of our runners abreast as they were coming up a hill. That’s the kind of thing we just love to see,” said McGuirk

In the Division I race, Mark Mandi finished first (23:44.70) for the University of Washington, but the University of Portland had five of the top 12 finishers to take the team title. UW was second, followed by the Air Force Academy, the University of Oregon and the University of California.

The Top 10 finishers in the university division were:

1 Mandi, Mark Washington 23:44.70
2 Wilson, Nick Air Force 23:53.80
3 Moore, John Portland 23:55.40
4 Rolfe, Micah Portland 23:55.90
5 Axtman, Typhus Boise State 23:56.70
6 Rupp, Galen Oregon 23:57.40
7 Kilburg, Michael Portland 23:57.80
8 McNamara, Jordan Washington 24:03.50
9 Mineau, Jeremy Washington 24:04.50
10 McKenzie, Chuck Portland 24:08.00

Dee Olsen from the University of Idaho won the women’s university division in a time of 17:01.50. Washington won the team title, followed by Oregon, Iowa, California and San Diego State University.

The top ten finishers in the women’s university race were:

1 Olson, Dee University of Idaho 17:01.50
2 Armstrong, Meghan University of Iowa 17:04.70
3 Azulay, Lital Sdsu 17:10.50
4 Nelson, Zoe Oregon 17:13.10
5 Lademan, Brooke Washington 17:14.80
6 Leary, Katie Oregon 17:16.70
7 Tyler, Tori Washington 17:19.45
8 Younce, Ashley Oregon State Uni 17:24.00
9 Pearson, Sarah Oregon 17:27.05
10 Graham, Nicole Air Force 17:30.20

Tania Vander Meulen won the women’s open division in 17:35.00. The team title was won by eastside Track Club, followed by Chico State University, Team GFR of Salem and Spokane Community College.

The Top Ten finishers were:

1 Vander Meulen, Tania Unattached 17:35.00
2 Wemple, Robin Unattached 17:49.05
3 Beechy, Tiffany UO Running Club 17:59.30 1
4 Jones, Kelsey Eastside Track Club 18:08.00 2
5 Williams, Evelyn Team Gfr Salem 18:49.85 3
6 Carpenter, Kristin British Columbia 18:54.15
7 Mullen, Lindy Unattached 18:54.60
8 Wegman, Karina Unattached 18:55.75
9 Hooks, Amy Eastside Track Club 18:58.20 4
10 Ivie, Allison Unattached 19:00.60

Paul Kezes of Team XO won the men’s Open Division in a time of 23:26.40. The Eastside Track Club won the team title, followed by Team XO, the University of Portland, Lane Community College and Spokane Community College.

The Top Ten men’s finishers were:

1 Kezes, Paul Team XO 23:26.40 1
2 Braden, Forest Unattached 23:37.15
3 McLean, Dan Rrs - Mizuno 24:22.00
4 Laurie, Steve Team Eugene 24:28.30
5 Stout, Jake Greater Boise Ru 24:38.10
6 Thomas, Jon Unattached 24:42.30
7 Morgan, David Lane Community C 24:54.60 2
8 Riley, Tim Eastside Track Club 24:57.70 3
9 Griffiths, Eric Eastside Track Club 25:04.00 4
10 McCurry, Patrick Eastside Track Club 25:05.70

Charlie Bowles Invitational

Charlie Bowles Invitational