Andrea May Leads Willamette to Fifth Straight NWC Track and Field Title

SALEM, OR - Andrea May streaked to victories in the 100, 200 and 100 hurdles as she led the Willamette University women's track team to its fifth straight Northwest Conference title Saturday afternoon at McCulloch Stadium.

With a dominating performance in the running events - and a victory from freshman Alanna Pledger in the high jump - the Bearcats rolled up 210.83 points. Linfield was second with 132.33 points. Whitworth finished third with 106.33 points, followed by PLU (82.5), Pacific (78), Puget Sound (76), George Fox (68) and Lewis & Clark (64).

Lewis & Clark's Kate Ross won the NWC Female Athlete of the Year as she won the long jump Friday with an NWC record leap of 19-02.75.Ross also won the triple jump Saturday with a provisional qualifying mark of 38-09.75.

Willamette's Matt McGuirk won NWC Women's Coach of the Year honors.

Other winners for the Bearcats included Mariah Hanson in the 400. Roseanne Kassebaum in the 400-meter hurdles and the Bearcats 4 x 400 relay team composed of Jordyn Smith, Hanson, Kassebaum and Sascha Larsen-Helbing.

Lewis & Clark's Carla McHattie was another double winner, taking home first place in the 800 and 1500.

May (pictured above) edged teammate Lindsey Patterson to win the 100 in 12.38. Patterson finished in 12.39. Amy LeBrun of Pacific was third in 12.82.

May and Patterson went 1-2 in the 200. May posted an NCAA Division III track and field provisional qualifying mark with a 25.32. Patterson finished in 25.72. LeBrun again finished third in 26.25, just .7 ahead of Willamette's Katie Klein.

May posted another provisional qualifying time in the 100-meter hurdles, winning her third conference championship race in a time of 14.92. Cassie Arroyo of Pacific finished second in 15.01. Linfield's Riley Bernard finished third in 15.56.

Hanson and Sascha Larsen-Helbing finished 1-2 in the 400. Hanson won in 1:01.06. Larsen Helbing's time was 1:01.35. Brooke Barker of Pacific finished third in 1:01.94.

McHattie of Lewis & Clark won the 800 in 4:45.63, less than two seconds ahead of Willamette's Jordyn Smith (2:17.53. Linfield's Kate Franklin was third in 2:20.20 and Hanson of the Bearcats finished fourth (2:24.16).

McHattie doubled up as she won the 1500 in 4:45.63, beating Emily Timmer of UPS (4:47.80) and Rachel Giffey-Brohaugh of GFU (4:51.78).

Kassebaum won the 400-meter hurdles in 1:05.64. She beat Riley Bernard of Linfield (1:06.28) and Tamara Moores of Lewis & Clark (1:06.51).

Pledger, a freshman, won the high jump with a leap of 5-03.25, defeating Katie Aliamo of George Fox, Claire Benish of UPS and Caitlin Mahoney of Linfield, all of whom jumped 5-01.25.

PLU won the 4 x 100 relay in 50.44, edging out Willamette's team that ran a 50.57. Linfield finished third in the 4 x 100.

In other events, Juli Huddleston won the pole vault (10-03.25) over Katherine Lane of Whitworth, who jumped the same height in more attempts.

Maddie Coffman of Willamette won Friday's 3000meter steeplechase in 11:40.30.

Linfield's Joni Claypool and Danielle Bielenberg went 1-2 in the shot put. Claypool threw 46-03.25 and Bielenberg threw 42-09.75.

Bielenberg also won the discus with a throw of 141-04, defeating Willamette freshman Melinda Fahey who threw 126-04 to finish second.

Lindsey Blakenship won the hammer (172-04). Dee Dee Arnall won the javelin (149-02), and Brooke Barker won the heptathlon ten days ago, scoring 4418 points.