Whitworth and George Fox Take First Day Lead at Northwest Conference Track and Field Championships; Saturday's Final Events Begin at 10:30 a.m.

SALEM, OR - The Whitworth University women and George Fox men took the first-day lead at the Northwest Conference Track and Field championships at McCulloch Stadium near the campus of host Willamette University Friday afternoon.

Whitworth's women, led by Kristi Dickey's victory in the 10K, led with 56.33 points. Willamette University was second with 47.83 points. Linfield is in third with 36.33 points.

On the men's side, George Fox parlayed a victory by Seth Harris in the long jump, to hold the lead with 68.50 points followed by the University of Puget Sound (57 points) and the Bearcats (49 points).

Dickey won the 10K for the second year in a row in a time of 37:21.17, a provisional qualifying time for the NCAA Division IIII national track and field championships scheduled for May. Liana Roberts of Puget Sound finished second in 37:35.73, another provisional qualifying time. Shana Shofsky of Pacific finished third in 38:34.98.

In the men's 10K, the final race of the night, Willamette's Travis Harris beat last year's champ Frank Prince of UPS. Harris ran a 32:04.42 to edge Prince by just under three seconds. Josh Clough of Willamette finished third in 32:15.49. Packs of runners from both UPS and Willamette battled throughout the race with the Bearcats finishing 1st, 3rd, 6th and 8th and the Loggers finishing 2nd, 4th, 5th and 7th.

In other events on the women's side, Willamette's Maddie Coffman won the 3000m Steeplechase in 11:40.30. Brittany Hodgson finished second in 11:41.09 and Kristen Davignon finished third in 11:48.42. Ashley Sharrat and Bobbi Wright of Willamette finished fifth and sixth.

Juli Huddleston of Linfield won the women's pole vault with a jump of 10-03.25. Whitworth's Katherine Lane jumped the same height in more attempts to finish second. Laura Bonion of PLU finished third in 9-09.25.

The women's long jump went to Kate Ross. Ross broke the all-time NWC meet record with a leap of 19-02.75, an automatic qualifying mark for the national championships. Willamette's Lindsey Patterson finished second in 17-08 and Puget Sound's Jena Robinson was third in 17-04.

Lindsey Blankenship won the hammer throw for the second straight year, easily beating PLU's Megan Wochnick. Blankenship threw 172-04, over 11 feet better than Wochnick's 161-10. PLU's Taylor Hacker finished third in 142-09 while Willamette's Brittany Farrer was fourth in 129-05.

Pacific's Dee Dee Arnall and Brooke Barker finished 1-2 in the javelin. Arnall threw 149-02, six feet better than Barker's 143-11. Angela Florence (132-03) was third and Willamette's Sophia Dentzel (130-09) was fourth.

On the men's side, Alex Henry of Lewis & Clark won the steeplechase in 9:31.92. Willamette runners Julio Vierya (9:39.73), David Dorr (9:42.98) and Lucas Nebert (9:45.42) finished second, third and fourth.

The men's high jump went to Brian Kramer of Puget Sound with a leap of 6-07.50. Four other jumpers finished with 6-01.25. Seth Harris finished second; GFU's Sam McKenzie finished third and GFU's Zeb Udell and Steve Bianchi tied for fourth.

Harris went 22-11.75 to win the long jump, followed by GFU's Josh Priester (21-07.50), the Pioneer's Steve Bianchi (21-03.50 and Linfield's Andrew Woos (20-09.75. Willamette's Jarvis Tanquary finished fifth with a jump of 20-06.50.

Whitworth's Derrick Dewindt won the hammer throw with a toss of 181-03. Linfield throwers Chris Miles (157-07) and Jake Kleffner (140-10) finished second and third.

Linfield's Gabe Haberly finished first in the javelin, throwing a provisional mark of 59.03. Joel Krebs of George Fox was second in 186-03, Erik Jensen of PLU was third in 182-07 and Willamette's Grant Piros tossed 180-06 to finish fourth.

Saturday's event will feature the finals in a number of races.

Willamette's Andrea May qualified first in both the 100 and 200-meter runs. Last year's 200 champ Brooke Barker also qualified for the finals.

Mariah Hanson of Willamette ran the fastest 400 qualifying time, a provisional qualifier of 57.30, followed by GFU's Jessica Beach (59.40) and Barker (1:00.76) from Pacific.

Carla McHattie of Lewis & Clark ran the fastest 800 qualifying time (2:17.73), followed by Willamette's Jordyn Smith (2:20.53) and Whitworth's Emily Green (2:23.00).

Cassie Arroyo of Pacific qualified first in the 100-meter hurdles in 15.01. Willamette's May is right behind at 15.29.

Linfield's Riley Bernard ran the fastest qualifying time in the 400-meter hurdles, followed by Roseanne Kassebaum of Willamette.

Men's qualifiers include UPS's Pete Van Sant, who ran a 10.72 in the 100-meter run and a 22.04 in the 200.

Nick Symmonds will attempt to win three events on Saturday. Friday, he posted the best qualifying time in the 400 (49.1) and the 800 (1:57.73). Saturday, he'll run in the finals of those two events, as well as the finals of the 1500.

The schedule for Saturday's event is as follows:

10:30am Men's Shot Put
10:30am Women's Discus
10:30am Men's Triple Jump
10:30am Men's Pole Vault
10:30am Women's High Jump
12:00pm Women's 400m Relay
12:10pm Men's 400m Relay
12:15pm Women's 1500m Run
12:25pm Men's 1500m Run
12:40pm Women's 100m Hurdles
12:50pm Men's 110m Hurdles
1:00pm Men's Discus
1:00pm Women's Triple Jump
1:00pm Women's Shot Put
1:00pm Women's 400m Dash
1:10pm Men's 400m Dash
1:20pm Women's 100m Dash
1:30pm Men's 100m Dash
1:40pm Women's 800m Run
1:50pm Men's 800m Run
2:05pm Women's 400m Hurdles
2:15pm Men's 400m Hurdles
2:25pm Women's 200m Dash
2:35pm Men's 200m Dash
2:45pm Women's 5000m Run
3:10pm Men's 5000m Run
3:35pm Women's 1600m Relay
3:45pm Men's 1600m Relay
4:00pm Awards Ceremony