LeDoux Chosen First Team All-NWC

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Willamette University freshman tennis player Donovan LeDoux (Keizer, OR/McNary HS) has been named First Team All-Northwest Conference for his efforts during the 2006-07 season. LeDoux was one of eight men’s tennis players selected for the First Team. An additional six players earned Second Team honors.

LeDoux helped the Bearcats qualify for the NWC Tournament as the #5 seed, after finishing the regular season with an 8-8 record in NWC action. At the NWC Tournament, Willamette edged 4th-seeded the University of Puget Sound, 5-4, before falling to top-seeded Whitman College, 9-0, in the semifinals and dropping a close 5-4 decision to Linfield in the third place match.

Throughout the season, LeDoux played #1 singles and saw action at #1 and #2 doubles. In WU’s win over Puget Sound at the NWC Tournament, he defeated the #1 player for UPS, Andrew Neal, 6-1, 6-1. Including the NWC Tournament, LeDoux went 9-7 against NWC opponents in singles and was 9-7 in doubles. Overall, he achieved a 9-11 record in singles and an 11-9 record in doubles.

Willamette University men’s tennis Head Coach Jon Endrikat was chosen Northwest Conference Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year. He guided the Bearcats to the NWC Tournament, including a stretch in which Willamette won five consecutive NWC matches and six of seven matches overall. Willamette ended the season with a 10-12 overall record, after going 4-7 in 2004-05 and 5-11 in 2005-06. Endrikat completed his second season as WU’s head coach.

LeDoux was joined on the First Team All-NWC list by Phalkun Mam, Steven Ly and Robbie Munday from Whitman, David Miller, Jeff Loranger and Kevin Floyd of Pacific Lutheran University and Ian McGrath from Linfield. Mam was selected as the NWC Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, while McGrath was named NWC Men’s Tennis Sportsman of the Year.

2007 All-Northwest Conference Tennis Teams -- Complete List

Donovan LeDoux was named First Team All-Northwest Conference.

Donovan LeDoux was named First Team All-Northwest Conference.