Rebol Places 24th to Lead WU Men to Fourth Place at Beaver Classic

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

CORVALLIS, ORE. -- The Willamette University cross country teams entered a select group of runners in the Beaver Classic at Avery Park in Corvallis, Ore., on Saturday, Oct. 20. WU's men took fourth place, led by Nick Rebol (Fr., Cottonwood, CA/Red Bluff HS), who was 24th in a field that included many NCAA Division I and club team runners. The Bearcat women's team finished in seventh place. The event was hosted by the Corvallis Running Project.

Willamette's Northwest Conference runners did not compete on Saturday, but will return to action at the NWC Championships at Willamette Mission State Park on Saturday, Oct. 27. Willamette has won six consecutive NWC men's team tiles and five consecutive NWC women's team titles.

Rebol, who ran the course in 26:16, set the stage for solid effort by Willamette's men's squad. All five of WU's scoring runners placed in the top 35. Following closely behind Rebol was Ryan McLaughlin (Fr., Milwaukie, OR/Milwaukie HS) in 27th place with a time of 26:18.

Steven Millard (Sr., Port Orchard, WA/South Kitsap HS) was 32nd after earning a time of 26:35. Stefan Redfield (Fr., Sisters, OR/Sisters HS) took 34th place at 26:44 and Nathan Smith (Fr., Colorado Springs, CO/Air Academy HS) placed 35th in 26:47. Just 31 seconds separate Willamette's top five finishers.

Also finishing in the top half of the 106 entries were Matt Parker (Fr., Portland, OR/Lincoln HS) and Doug Neill (So., Pleasant Hill, OR/Pleasant Hill HS). Parker was 42nd with a time of 26:58. Neill was 52nd with a time of 27:34.

The individual champion was Isaac Stoutenburgh, who ran unattached in a time of 24:10. Also running unattached and clocking in at 24:10 was Pat Werhane. James Withers from the University of Oregon was the top collegiate finisher, as he took third place in 24:12. Kevin McNally, also from Oregon, took fourth by matching Withers' time at 24:12.

The University of Oregon won the men's team title with a score of 17 (1-2-3-4-7). Second place went to the UO Running Club with a score of 61. Third place was achieved by the University of Portland at 68 and Willamette was fourth at 99. Fifth place was earned by Clark College at 172. Overall, eight teams competed in the men's race.

Tina Patel (Fr., Bend, OR/Summit HS) was WU's top finisher in the women's race. She registered a time of 23:22 to take 33rd place. Mara Engle (Jr., Bellingham, WA/Bellingham HS) placed 42nd with a time of 24:00. Megan Horning (Fr., Page, AZ/Page HS) was 48th in 24:14 and Melissa Ostermick (Sr., Talkeetna, AK/Susitna Valley HS) was 49th in 24:21. Maya Velez (So., Oakland, CA/Skyline HS) completed the team score by placing 61st with a time of 25:21.

Dana Buchanan, running unattached, won the women's individual championship. She crossed the finish line in 20:47 to win by 24 seconds over Penny McDermott of the Corvallis Running Project, who took second in 21:11. Third place went to Brooke Giuffre from the University of Oregon with a time of 21:18.

The University of Oregon won the women's team title. The Ducks recorded a score of 28. Oregon State University was second at 45, with the University of Portland in third at 76. Willamette was seventh out of 10 teams with a score of 153, just one point behind the UO Running Club in sixth at 152.

Beaver Classic