Batch Wins 1,500-Meter Run in 3:56.97 at Charles Bowles Classic

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Ian Batch (Jr., Eagle, ID/Capital HS) won the men's 1,500-meter run with a time of 3:56.97, leading a 1-3-4 finish by Willamette University in the event, during the Charles Bowles Classic on Friday, March 21 at the Charles Bowles Track. Batch's victory helped the Bearcat men's team claim a total of six first place finishes. The Willamette women's team won four events.

Batch's time, the fastest in the Northwest Conference this spring, was just 1.17 seconds off the NCAA Division III provisional qualifying mark of 3:55.80. Mike Kebbe of Team XO took second place at 3:57.07, while Kyle Kotaich (So., Florence, OR/Siuslaw HS) of Willamette finished third with a time of 3:57.67. Tristan Knutson-Lombardo (Jr., Juneau, AK/Juneau-Douglas HS), also from Willamette, placed fourth in 4:00.38, as WU earned the top three collegiate finishes in the event.

Other individual winners for the Willamette men's team were Kellen Peters (So., Forest Grove, OR/Forest Grove HS/Pacific U.), Trevor May (Fr., Florence, OR/Siuslaw HS), Jesse Brewster (Fr., Klamath Falls, OR/Henley HS) and Jacob Monroe (Jr., Keizer, OR/McNary HS). Willamette also won the men's 4 x 100-meter relay in 46.13 seconds, with the Bearcats running unopposed.

Peters took first place in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 9:28.34. He won the event by 9.11 seconds over Jesus Solis of Humboldt State, who took second in 9:37.45. Peters was 5.34 seconds away from the NCAA provisional qualifying standard of 9:23.00.

May recorded his victory in the 100-meter hurdles in 15.61 seconds. He won by 0.32 seconds, with Jordan Werner of Western Oregon University taking second at 15.93 seconds.

The win for Brewster was earned in a tie for first place in the high jump. Brewster and Dean Kongslie of Linfield College each cleared 5'11.50". Daniel Pearson (So., Granger, WA/Dwight D. Eisenhower HS), also cleared 5'11.50", but placed third due to more jumps.

Monroe outdistanced the field of 19 throwers in the shot put. His winning toss went 45'1.50". Evin Colignon (Fr., Poulsbo, WA/Charles Wright Academy) of Willamette took fourth at 42'0.50".

In the 4 x 100-meter relay, Willamette's first leg was completed by Nate Dick (Fr., Stanfield, OR/Southern Oregon Univ.). Also running on the relay team were Jose Green (Fr., Downey, CA/Warren HS), Brent Turner (Fr., Newman, CA/Orestimba HS) and George Colton (So., Pasadena,CA/Whittier College).

Colton also registered the fastest time by a collegiate runner in the 100-meter dash. He earned a time of 11.30 seconds to finish in second place behind Eric Dahl of Team XO, who won the race in 10.94 seconds. Colton's time was the second-fastest result by a Northwest Conference runner this season.

Individual champions for the Willamette women's team were Lydia Marsalli (So., Klamath Falls, OR/Klamath Union HS), Brooke Smith (Jr., Idleyld Park, OR/Glide HS), Sarah Burton (Fr., Fallon, NV/Churchill County HS) and Christina Edholm (So., Pleasanton, CA/Foothill HS).

Marsalli won the 100-meter dash with a time of 12.72 seconds. She claimed a narrow victory over Amy LeBrun of Pacific Lutheran, who clocked in at 12.77 seconds. Kaitlin St. John (So., Bend, OR/Mountain View HS) took fifth place in 12.98 seconds.

Smith won the high jump at 5'3.25", as she cleared two full inches more than any other competitor among 14 entries. Chelsea Machida of Linfield was second at 5'1.25" and Burton of Willamette placed third at 4'11.50".

In the triple jump, Burton achieved first place with a distance of 34'7.75". Kealani Gangwes of Warner Pacific College took second with a jump of 33'8.75".

Edholm led a 1-2 finish for Willamette in the shot put. She recorded a throw of 35'5" to win the event, while Holly Winter (Jr., Dundee, OR/Newberg HS) registered a toss of 35'1.75" to claim second place.

Smith took second in the long jump, but had the best distance among collegiate jumpers. Bridget Johnson of Team XO won the long jump at 16'8.50". Smith's top jump covered 15'8.25", one-half inch more than Crystal Sims of Mount Hood CC, who took third.

In addition, Smith placed second in the 100-meter hurdles, as she earned a time of 15.90 seconds. Faven Araya of Pacific Lutheran took first place in 15.77 seconds.

Several of Willamette's track and field athletes will compete at the Oregon Preview on Saturday, March 22. The meet , which is hosted by the University of Oregon, will get underway in Eugene at 11:15 a.m. (PDT).

Friday, March 21 at Charles Bowles Track
Charles Bowles Classic
Ian Batch finished first to lead a field of 36 runners in the 1,500-meter run at the Charles Bowles Classic.

Ian Batch finished first to lead a field of 36 runners in the 1,500-meter run at the Charles Bowles Classic.