Molly Fillion Named NWC Women's Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Willamette University senior guard Molly Fillion (Silverton, OR/Silverton HS/Linn-Benton CC) has been chosen Northwest Conference Women's Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week for her efforts at the Al Kaly Shrine Classic, hosted by Colorado State University-Pueblo on Nov. 21-22. Fillion helped Willamette go 1-1 and was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Willamette fell to host CSU-Pueblo, 66-58, in the first round. The Bearcats defeated New Mexico Highlands University, 86-57, in the second round.

Fillion averaged 15.0 points per game and grabbed 10.5 rebounds per contest. She scored 14 points and hauled down seven boards against host CSU-Pueblo. She provided 16 points and recorded 14 rebounds against NMHU. During the week, Fillion shot 47.4% from the field and made 11 of 17 free throws. She registered four assists and one steal.

Fillion is in her second year at Willamette since transferring from Linn-Benton Community College. Last season, she averaged 13.2 points and 9.6 rebounds per game.

The Bearcats will return to action on Friday, Nov. 28 and Saturday, Nov. 29 at the College of Idaho Tournament. WU will face tournament host College of Idaho on Friday at 7 p.m. (MST)/6 p.m. (PST). On Saturday, the 'Cats will take on Eastern Oregon University at 1 p.m. (MST)/12 p.m. (PST).

Molly Fillion averaged in double digits in scoring and rebounding at the Al Kaly Shrine Classic.

Molly Fillion averaged in double digits in scoring and rebounding at the Al Kaly Shrine Classic.