WU Men's Cross Country is Ranked #29, Women's Team is Ranked #30

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Both of Willamette University's cross country teams are nationally ranked this week, following the completion of NCAA Regional action. The Bearcat men's team is ranked #29 and the WU women's team is tied for #30 in their respective NCAA Division III Polls released by the USTFCCCA on Monday, Nov. 17.

Willamette's teams will compete at the NCAA Division III National Championships on Saturday, Nov. 22 at the L.S. Ayres Complex in Hanover, Ind. The men's 8-kilometer race will begin at 11 a.m. (EST)/8 a.m. (PST), with the women's 6-kilometer race set to start at 12 p.m. (EST)/9 a.m. (PST).

This past weekend, WU women's runner Maddie Coffman (Sr., Boise, ID/Boise HS) won the West Region Championship with a time of 21:26.99 over the 6K course. Josh Clough (Sr., Auburn, WA/Auburn Riverside HS) of Willamette placed 14th at the West Regional after completing the 8K men's race in 25:36.60.

Clough led a trio of Bearcats separated by only 0.9 seconds at the Regional Meet. Kyle Kotaich (Jr., Florence, OR/Siuslaw HS) took 15th place at 25:36.80 and Nick Rebol (So., Cottonwood, CA/Red Bluff Union HS) placed 17th at 25:37.50.

The top-ranked men's team this week is Cortland State (N.Y.), which received all eight first place votes and 280 points in the poll. North Central College (Ill.) holds the #2 position at 272 points, with the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse moving up three spots to #3 in the poll at 260 points.

Middlebury College (Vt.) moved up three positions from the previous women's poll and is ranked #1 this week with six first place votes and 278 points. Calvin College (Mich.) fell from #1 in the poll released on Nov. 5 to #2 in the new poll. Calvin received two first place votes and 273 points. Williams College (Mass.) advanced one spot and is now #3 with 261 points.

Josh Clough will compete at Nationals for the fourth time in his career this weekend.

Josh Clough will compete at Nationals for the fourth time in his career this weekend.