Six Willamette Rowers Earn CRCA National Scholar-Athlete Honors

By Sara Brooks, Assistant Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6219

The College Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) has announced their National Scholar-Athletes for the 2009 season and six members of the Willamette University women’s team are on the list.

To be named a CRCA National Scholar-Athlete, students must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average or higher during their career. Student-Athletes must be at least sophomores in eligibility and row in 75% of their institution’s races.

Willamette's list of honorees included Hilary Andrus (Jr., Chimacum, WA/Chimacum HS), Geneva Hooten (So., Vancouver, WA/Mountain View HS) and Christina Thorburn (So., Boulder, CO/Niwot HS), who compete on the women's varsity eight+. Andrus is pursuing a degree in Mathematics, Hooten is working toward a degree in International Studies and French, and Thorburn is majoring in Exercise Science. Andrus also was a National Scholar-Athlete in 2008.

Sophomore Kara Hafkey (Mesa, AZ/Glencoe HS, OR), from Willamette's varsity lightweight eight+ and second varsity eight+, also received Scholar-Athlete recognition. She is majoring in Spanish and Psychology.

Also qualifying for the Scholar-Athlete honor was sophomore Kendra Kennedy of Anchorage, Alaska (Robert Service HS), who rows with the women's lightweight eight+. She is majoring in Economics.

Finally, sophomore Linnea Schuster (Honolulu, HI/Punahou School) received Scholar-Athlete status. She is working on a degree in Film Studies and Japanese. Schuster is the coxswain on several of the Willamette men’s boats.

The Willamette University women's varsity eight+ was selected for the NCAA Division III National Championship Regatta this season. Earlier this spring, the Bearcats tied for second place in the overall women's team standings at the Northwest Collegiate Rowing Conference (NCRC) Championships.

Hilary Andrus achieved National Scholar-Athlete recognition for the second consecutive season.

Hilary Andrus achieved National Scholar-Athlete recognition for the second consecutive season.