Jaske of NYAC Breaks Zerzan's 5000m Track Record at WU Invite

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Kelly Jaske of the New York Athletic Club broke the Charles Bowles Track record previously held by former Willamette University runner Sarah Zerzan '08 in the women's 5,000-meter run during the first day of the Willamette Invitational on Friday, April 2.

Jaske achieved a time of 16:22.62 to take first place in a field of 54 runners in the 5,000 as part of the Charles Bowles Celebration of Distance, which concluded the first day's activities. The previous record was set by Zerzan at 16:28.54 during the Willamette Invitational three seasons ago on April 6, 2007.

Another track record was set in the men's 10,000-meter run. Marko Cheseto from the University of Alaska-Anchorage set the record with a time of 29:41.86, as he won the race by 41.60 seconds.

Leading Willamette's results on Friday was Trevor Bassett-Smith (Keizer, OR/McNary HS/Western Oregon Univ.), who registered an NCAA Division III provisional mark in the men's hammer throw with a toss of 175'11". The NCAA provisional standard is 172'3".

Bassett-Smith won the hammer by just over four feet, with Anthony Lantz of Clackamas Community College finishing second at 171'7". Steven Collins (Sr., Zillah, WA/Zillah HS) of WU placed third at 165'7". A total of 21 athletes competed in the event.

Several other members of the Willamette track and field teams excelled for the Bearcats on Friday.

Kimber Mattox (So., Bend, OR/Bend HS/Cornell Univ.) took fifth place behind Jaske in the women's 5,000-meter run. Mattox earned a time of 17:35.24, as she narrowly missed the NCAA provisional qualifying standard of 17:35.00. She already owns a provisional qualifying time of 10:48.71 in the 3,000-meter steeplechase.

Stefan Redfield (Jr., Sister, OR/Sisters HS) placed fifth in the men's 5,000-meter run with a time of 14:49.76. He missed the NCAA provisional standard of 14:48.00 by less than two seconds. Kevin Peters from the Greater Boise Running Club took first place in the 5,000 at 14:28.85.

In the men's 1,500-meter run, Ryan McLaughlin (Jr., Milwaukie, OR/Milwaukie HS) took ninth place with a personal record time of 3:59.27. Ian Cronin, competing unattached, won the 1,500 in 3:53.34.

Christina Edholm (Sr., Pleasanton, CA/Foothill HS) won the women's hammer throw at 131'11". Second place in the event went to Christina Hardie of Lane Community College with a toss of 125'7".

Willamette freshmen Stevie Gildehaus (Spokane Valley, WA/University HS) and Theresa Edwards (Lake Tapps, WA/Bonney Lake HS) placed 16th and 17th, respectively, in the women's 1,500-meter run. Gildehaus finished the race in 4:57.02 and Edwards followed at 4:57.92.

Former Willamette track and field athlete Jordyn Smith '08, a five-time All-American, placed second in the women's 1,500-meter run. Smith clocked in at 4:31.73 after gaining significant ground over the final lap on eventual winner Lauren Johnson of Club 185 Striders. Johnson won the race in 4:29.86.

The Willamette Invitational will conclude on Saturday, April 3 at the Charles Bowles Track. Action in the field events will start at 10 a.m. (PDT), with the running events beginning at 12 p.m.

Willamette Invitational - First Day

Women's Event Winners
1,500m -- Lauren Johnson (Club 185 Striders), 4:29,86
5,000m -- Kelly Jaske (New York Athletic Club), 16:22.62 (Track Record)
10,000m -- Alice Taylor (Concordia, Ore.), 35:40.35
3,000m Steeplechase -- Courtney Lightfoot (Univ. of Washington), 11:52.42
Hammer Throw -- Christina Edholm (Willamette), 131'11"

Men's Event Winners
1,500m -- Ian Cronin (Unattached), 3:53.34
5,000m -- Kevin Peters (Greater Boise Running Club), 14:28.85
10,000m -- Marko Cheseto (Alaska-Anchorage), 29:41.86 (Track Record)
3,000m Steeplechase -- Jared Bassett (Univ. of Portland), 9:19.06
Hammer Throw -- Trevor Bassett-Smith (Willamette), 175'11" (NCAA Provisional)

Willamette Invitational
Charles Bowles Track
Salem, Ore.
April 2, 2010
Trevor Bassett-Smith achieved an NCAA provisional qualifying mark of 175-11 to win the hammer throw.

Trevor Bassett-Smith achieved an NCAA provisional qualifying mark of 175-11 to win the hammer throw.