Mattox Finishes Second at Mike Hodges Invitational

Willamette Takes Third in both Men's and Women's Team Standings

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

OREGON CITY, ORE. -- Kimber Mattox (So., Bend, OR/Bend HS/Cornell Univ.) of Willamette University placed second overall behind unattached runner Christine Babcock in the women's 5-kilometer race at the Mike Hodges Invitational, hosted by Clackamas Community College on Friday, Oct. 15. Babcock won the race in 17:15.18. Mattox registered a time of 17:56.88 as the top collegiate finisher.

Mattox completed the course nearly 20 seconds before Seena Frantz of Southern Oregon University reached the finish line for third place at 18:16.46. Shawna Schooley from Everett Community College was fourth in 18:19.58 and Anya Martinez of Southern Oregon took fifth place with a time of 18:25:19.

Willamette earned third place in the women's team standings. Following Mattox for the Bearcats was Kaitlin Greene (Jr., Pullman, WA/Pullman HS), who placed 13th overall in 19:02.63. Theresa Edwards (So., Lake Tapps, WA/Bonney Lake HS) claimed 21st at 19:22.83 and Alisha Till (So., Richland, WA/Richland HS) took 27th in 19:29.75. Cathy Monahan (Jr., La Grande, OR/La Grande HS) was 36th at 19:52.30

The women's race featured 120 athletes overall. Southern Oregon University won the team title with a score of 24. Everett CC placed second with a score of 75 and Willamette followed in third with a score of 79. Clark College (Wash.) took fourth at 106 and Seattle University was fifth. A total of 14 teams participated in the women's race.

In the men's 4-mile race, Willamette's Ben Donovan (Jr., Minneapolis, MN/South HS) finished in 16th place. His time was 20:49.21.

Brian Gnerre (So., Torrance, CA/Torrance HS) of Willamette placed 26th in 21:05.22, while Sean Sharma took 31st in 21:09.93. Rounding out WU's top five finishers were Parker Bennett (Fr., Sisters, OR/Sisters HS) in 33rd place with a time of 21:11.36 and Kristian Kingstad (Fr., Beaverton, OR/Beaverton HS) placed 36th in 21:16.89. The Bearcats were third in the team standings.

Southern Oregon University achieved the men's team title with a score of 24. Western Oregon University recorded second place with a score of 40. Willamette took third place at 127. The University of Oregon Running Club was fourth at 130, while Everett CC placed fifth at 173. Overall, 165 runners competed in the men's race. A total of 17 teams were included.

David Laney from Southern Oregon won the men's championship as he reached the finish line in 19:31.17. Chris Reed from Western Oregon attained second place in 19:58.03. Zach Elliott of SOU placed third with a time of 20:09.38 and James Johnstone of SOU took fourth at 20:18.23. Connor Kasler of WOU was fifth, clocking in at 20:18.77, just 0.54 after Johnstone.

A select group of Willamette men's cross country runners will compete at the Bill Dellinger Invitational, hosted by the University of Oregon on Saturday, Oct. 16.

In addition to Willamette (ranked #15 in NCAA Division III), the men's 8-kilometer race will include Oregon (#3, NCAA I), University of Portland (#8, NCAA I), University of Wisconsin (#11, NCAA I), Portland State University and University of Guelph from Ontario, Canada.

The Bill Dellinger Invitational will be held at Pre's Trail in Alton Baker Park in Eugene, Ore. The action starts at 11:45 a.m. (PDT).

Mike Hodges Invitational
Clackamas Community College, Oregon City, Ore.
Oct. 15, 2010
Kimber Mattox took second in the women's race and helped WU earn third place in the team standings at the Mike Hodges Invitational.

Kimber Mattox took second in the women's race and helped WU earn third place in the team standings at the Mike Hodges Invitational.

Ben Donovan

Ben Donovan