McLaughlin and Dinsmore Register Top Times in NWC so Far this Season

Lead Willamette at Charles Bowles Spring Break Classic

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- Willamette University athletes Ryan McLaughlin (Sr., Milwaukie, OR/Milwaukie HS) and Jaela Dinsmore (Jr., Hines, OR/Burns HS) each recorded a top time in the Northwest Conference so far this season during the second day of the Charles Bowles Spring Break Classic on Friday, March 18 at the Charles Bowles Track.

McLaughlin won the men's 800-meter run with a time of 1:57.28. His time ranks first in the NWC in 2011, surpassing the previous top time of 1:58.82 by Avery Neal of Pacific University on March 4.

Dinsmore took first place in the women's 200-meter dash in 26.20 seconds. Dinsmore's time improved on the former NWC-leading time of 26.44 achieved by Cheyenne Feliz of Lewis & Clark College on March 5.

Dinsmore also won the women's 400-meter dash with a time of 59.6h. Samantha Nihm (Fr., Tigard, OR/Southridge HS) placed second at both 200 meters (26.74 seconds) and 400 meters (1:00.3h).

Other winners for the Willamette women's team on Friday were Sally Venable (Jr., Ventura, CA/Foothill Technology HS) in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and Danielle Barnett (Sr., Myrtle Point, O/Myrtle Point HS) in the long jump.

Venable won the steeplechase with a time of 11:43.96. She set a personal record in the event. Finishing second was Sarah McSweeney (Jr., Petaluma, CA/Casa Grande HS) of WU, who completed the race in 11:52.35.

Barnett won the long jump with an NWC qualifying distance of 15'8.25".

Robin Smith (Fr., Tillamook, OR/Tillamook HS) of Willamette placed second in the women's 100-meter dash in a very close race won by Rebecca Stanton of Corban. Stanton took first place by just 0.07, as she crossed the finish line in 13.58 seconds, compared to 13.65 seconds for Smith.

McLaughlin was won of five members of the Bearcat men's team who earned victories on Friday.

Paul Winger (Jr., Bonney Lake, WA/Bonney Lake HS) won the 400-meter dash in 50.54 seconds. He won by more than half a second over Seth James of Corban, who took second in 51.19 seconds.

Matt Parker (Jr., Portland, OR/Lincoln HS) finished first in the 1,500-meter run. His time was 4:03.00.

Also earning wins for Willamette were Max Faulhaber (So., Eugene, OR/Sheldon HS) in the shot put and David Oppat (Sr., Beaverton, OR/Southridge HS) in the discus. Faulhaber registered a throw of 40'7.50" in the shot put, while Oppat's top distance in the discus was 150'11". The throw by Oppat placed him second in the NWC so far this spring.

Oppat won a total of two events during the Charles Bowles Spring Break Classic. He took first place in the hammer throw on Thursday with a distance of 164'1".

Two former Bearcat runners who were seniors in 2010 were victorious on Friday while competing unattached. Nate Dick won the men's 100-yard dash in 11.31 seconds and placed first in the men's 200-yard dash in 23.06 seconds. Chris Platano took first place in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 16:03.20.

Chris Luetjen (Fr., Lake Oswego, OR/Lake Oswego HS) of Willamette was second in the 100 at 11.55 seconds, while Abe Moland (Sr., Spokane, WA/St. George's School) of WU placed second in the 200 at 23.41 seconds.

For the Corban women's team, Christy Mosier won two events on Friday. She placed first in the shot put with a toss of 39'7.25:" and was first in the discus with a distance of 113'9".

The Warriors also received two wins on Friday for the men's team from James Myrvold. He attained the top distance in the long jump at 21'4.00" and won the triple jump with a combined result of 42'4.25". Overall, Myrvold earned three first place finishes during the meet, including a winning height of 6'6" in the high jump on Thursday.

A select group of Willamette athletes will compete in the Oregon Preview on Saturday, March 19. The Oregon Preview will be held at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore., starting at 1 p.m. (PDT).

Charles Bowles Spring Break Classic - Willamette vs. Corban (Charles Bowles Track)
March 17-18, 2011
Ryan McLaughlin won the men's 800-meter run in 1:57.28.

Ryan McLaughlin won the men's 800-meter run in 1:57.28.

Jaela Dinsmore won the 200 and the 400. She's shown here after finishing a race last season.

Jaela Dinsmore won the 200 and the 400. She's shown here after finishing a race last season.