CRCA Names Eight National Scholar-Athletes from WU Women's Rowing Team

Hoogstede, Hunt and Stiglich Receive Honor for Second Consecutive Season

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

SALEM, ORE. -- A total of eight members on the Willamette University women's rowing team have been named National Scholar-Athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) for the 2010-11 season. The Bearcats have received 17 Scholar-Athlete awards in the past two seasons.

In order to earn Scholar-Athlete status, each rower or coxswain had to achieve a 3.5 cumulative grade point average through the fall 2010 semester. Athletes also had to meet all eligibility requirements as defined by their institutions, had to be sophomores, juniors or seniors in terms of athletic eligibility and had to compete in an NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the spring races or in a regional conference regatta.

Only coaches who were members of the CRCA were able to nominate their student-athletes.

Receiving National Scholar-Athlete recognition for the Bearcats were Jenna Chiono, Blair Davis, Kara Hafkey, Karina Hoogstede, Gwen Hryciw, Heidi Hunt, Larissa Stiglich and Christina Thorburn.

Hoogstede, Hunt and Stiglich were repeat selections who also were chosen for Scholar-Athlete honors in 2009-10. Hafkey and Thorburn previously earned Scholar-Athlete status in 2008-09.

This spring, the Willamette women's rowing team, which competes in NCAA Division III, tied for fifth place overall at the Northwest Collegiate Rowing Conference (NCRC) Championships. Three of the teams in front of the Bearcats compete in NCAA Division II. At the NCRC Championships, WU finished second in the women's second varsity 8+ and the women's second varsity 4+.

At the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships, Willamette placed second in the Direct Final of the women's second varsity 8+. The Bearcats took second in the Third Final of the women's varsity 8+ after taking fourth in a very strong qualifying heat that included the same three NCAA Division II teams that placed above Willamette at the NCRC Championships.

It was the sixth season at Willamette for Head Coach Susan Parkman. Her assistant coaches were Todd Vogt, in his second season at WU, and Ryan Miller, in his first season with the Bearcats.

Jenna ChionoJenna Chiono (So., Psychology, Summer Lake, OR/Paisley HS)

Blair Davis Blair Davis (So., Undecided, Portland, OR/Sunset HS)

Kara Hafkey Kara Hafkey (Sr., Tempe, AZ/Glencoe HS)

Karina HoogstedeKarina Hoogstede (Jr., Poulsbo, WA/North Kitsap HS)

Gwen Hryciw Gwen Hryciw (So., Portland, OR/Sunset HS)

Heidi HuntHeidi Hunt (Jr., Bellingham, WA/Sehome HS)

Larissa StiglichLarissa Stiglich (Sr., Jr. eligibility, Vancouver, WA/Columbia River HS/U. of Washington)

Christina ThorburnChristina Thorburn (Sr., Boulder, CO/Niwot HS)

Karina Hoogstede earned National Scholar-Athlete recognition for the second year in a row.