Student-Athletes Receive Academic and Campus Life Awards

By Timothy Walsh, Athletics Communications Writer

SALEM, ORE. -- In recognition of their outstanding achievement in the classroom as well as their success on the playing field, 19 Willamette University student-athletes have received a total of 20 awards from Willamette's College of Liberal Arts and the Department of Campus Life.

2014 Academic Honors & Awards

Fourteen Bearcat student-athletes received academic awards and honors from the College of Liberal Arts. Awards are given to students who are excelling in pursuit of their undergraduate degree.

Elisa Ahern (Volleyball, Track & Field): William B. Webber Scholarship - Physics

Bekah Daniel (Track & Field): Phil Hanni Scholar - Institute for Continued Learning

Josh Echols (Men's Golf): Dr. Ivan Lovell History Scholarship

Michaela Freeby (Cross Country, Track & Field): Martha Springer Biology Scholarship

Maya Kaup (Track & Field): Martha Springer Biology Scholarship

Hans Lehndorff (Football, Track & Field): Oliver C. Brown Scholarship - Economics

Annette Marinello (Cross Country, Track & Field): Phillip C. Armstrong Scholarship - Biology

Daena Mau (Women's Basketball): Dr. Norman A. Huffman Religious Studies Scholarship

Benjamin Mow (Cross Country, Track & Field): Robert L. Purbrick Scholarship - Physics

Taylor Ottomano (Track & Field): Phil Hanni Scholar - Institute for Continued Learning

Denise Poltavski (Women's Tennis): Martha Springer Biology Scholarship

Christa Rohrbach (Swimming): Mae Anderson Oliver Award

Shannon Waltz (Volleyball): Richard M. Gillis Senior Award in Economics

Shawn Wong (Football, Track & Field): Charles D. Allis Scholarship - Economics

2014 Campus Life Awards

The Campus Life honors and awards program is an annual tradition where more than 100 students, faculty and staff are recognized and honored for their outstanding contributions to the various areas of campus life. Six Bearcat student-athletes received Campus Life awards.

Bekah Daniel (Track & Field): Female Senior Scholar-Athlete Award

Cuyler Hudson (Football): Male Senior Scholar-Athlete Award

Ryan Johnston (Football): Greek Man of the Year

Matt Millar (Football): Willamette Store Outstanding Intramural Athlete of the Year

Tait Stephens (Football): G. Herbert Smith Award

Chris Whitehead (Swimming): Hank Althoff Award