Board of Trustees

A list of the current Willamette University Board of Trustees is also available on the home page of the board of trustees web site.

Officers of the Board

  • Steven E. Wynne, '74, L'77, Chair of the Board, Ex-Officio All Committees
  • Donald G. Brown, '68 Vice Chair of the Board
  • Jonathan Carder, '68 Secretary of the Board
  • Kerry Tymchuk, '81 L'84, Assistant Secretary
  • Stephen E. Thorsett, President, Willamette University
  • W. Arnold Yasinski, Ph.D., Vice President for Financial Affairs and Treasurer
  • Kristen Grainger, Administrative Secretary; Vice President & Executive Assistant to the President, Willamette University


  • James F. Albaugh, '72, President and CEO; Boeing Integrated Defense Systems
  • Julie E. Branford, '67, Retired Director of Global Human Resources and Facilities, InFocus Corporation
  • Donald G. Brown, '68 Vice Chairman of the Board
  • Jonathan T. Carder, '68 President; Melvin Mark Brokerage Company, Secretary of the Board
  • Truman Collins '86 President, Collins Foundation, Software Engineer, Mentor Graphics Corporation
  • Heather K. Dempsey, '97 Owner, Fatto a Mano
  • Paul J. De Muniz, L'75 Chief Justice, State of Oregon
  • James A. Fitzhenry, L'81 M'81 President; Schmitt Industries Incorporated
  • Eric M. Friedenwald-Fishman, '88 Creative Director/President; Metropolitan Group, LLC
  • A. Brian Gard, '68 President/CEO; Gard Communications
  • William R.Haden, UMC Conference Representative
  • Stuart A. Hall, '62 L'65
  • Susan M. Hammer, L'76 Attorney/Mediator; Susan M. Hammer, Dispute Resolution Services
  • Melvin Henderson-Rubio, '74
  • Dale M. Hermann, '65 L'69, Chair of Board & Managing Director; CorSource Technology Group Incorporated
  • Joseph Hoffman '71 Retired Partner and Board Member, KPMG LLP
  • Robert T. Hoshibata, Bishop; United Methodist Church Methodist Representative
  • Brian Hufft '01, CFO; GigaPan 
  • Mary K. Hughes, L'74 President; John C. Hughes Foundation
  • Ronald J. Knox, L'81 Attorney & Partner: Garvey, Schubert & Barer
  • Peter C. Kremer, '62 President; The Kremer Company
  • Eva M. Kripalani, L'86 Consultant & Community Leader
  • Robert W. Nunn, '72 Partner; Sussman Shank LLP
  • Heidi Patterson, L'75, Biomedical Services, American Red Cross
  • Punit Renjen, M'86 Chairman & CEO; Deloitte Consulting LLP
  • Sandra Rowe
  • Jacqueline (Coston) Rushing, '73 Creator/Founder/Director; Young Scholars Program
  • Dale C. Sause, '74 CEO & President; Sause Brothers, Incorporated
  • Lynne Saxton '76 Chief Executive Officer, Youth Villages – ChristieCare of Oregon
  • Kevin R. Smith, '79 Managing Director; Prudential Real Estate Investors
  • Patricia Smullin, President & Owner; California Oregon Broadcasting, Incorporated
  • Guy C. Stephenson, '73 President, Westwood Shipping Lines Incorporated
  • Craig Strobel, Ph.D., '80 Senior Pastor, Pocatello First United Methodist Church, UMC Conference Representative
  • Stephen E. Thorsett, President
  • Kerry R. Tymchuk, '81 L'84 Interim Executive Director, Oregon Historical Society, Assistant Secretary of the Board
  • Patrick J. Waite, M'84
  • Roderick C. Wendt, L'80 President & CEO, JELD-WEN, Incorporated
  • Steven E. Wynne, '74 L'77, Vice President of Global Marketing, JELD-WEN Inc., Chairman of the Board, Ex-Officio All Committees
  • W. Arnold Yasinski, Ph.D., Vice President for Financial Affairs and Treasurer, Willamette University

Life Members

  • Ray N. Atkinson, '50 Board of Directors; Guy F. Atkinson Company
  • Ralph W. Bolliger, '53 L'55 Trustee; The Collins Foundation
  • Robert W. Burtner
  • Stewart Butler, '61
  • Wallace P. Carson, Jr., L'62
  • Maribeth (Wilson) Collins, Trustee; The Collins Foundation
  • Gerald W. Frank, President; Gerry's Frankly Speaking
  • Alan C. Goudy, '51
  • Henry L. Haines
  • Susan M. Hammer L'76, Attorney/Mediator; Susan M. Hammer, Dispute Resolution Services
  • Dale C. Harris '55
  • Henry H. Hewitt, L'69 Partner; Stoel Rives, LLP
  • Douglas G. Houser, '57 Atty/Partner; Bullivant House Bailey PC
  • George W. Hoyt, '58
  • William H. Kilkenny, '41 Chairman/Owner; W. H. Kilkenny Company
  • Eric B. Lindauer, L'66 Trustee; The Oregon Community Foundation
  • William D. Long, '59 Chairman and CEO; ECbridges, Inc.
  • Joan H. (Sherrill) McNamara, '59
  • Thomas E. Neilsen, M'86 Chairman; Neilsen Manufacturing, Incorporated
  • Robert  G. Packard, '73 Managing Partner; Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Arch. LLP
  • Norma (Petersen) Paulus, L'62
  • Claris C. Poppert, '57
  • George Rives
  • Robert F. Smith, '53 President/Owner/Rancher; Smith West Company
  • William Swindells
  • Loren C. Winterscheid, M.D. Ph.D., '48

Faculty Representatives

  • Michael L. Hand, Professor of Applied Statistics and Information Systems, Atkinson Graduate School of Management
  • Ron Loftus, Professor of Japanese; Department Chair, Asian Studies & Director, Center for Asian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
  • Jeffrey A. Standen, Professor of Law, College of Law

Student Representatives

  • Alayna Herr, L'12 Student, College of Law
  • Adina Kaliyeva, M'12 Student, Atkinson Graduate School of Management
  • Tejeswara V. Reddy, '12, Student, College of Liberal Arts

Jump to a Discipline

Jump to a Discipline's
Learning Outcomes

Jump to a Specific Course