China Debate Education Network 中国辩论教育网络

Willamette University, in association with with five Universities in the United States has just completed a 3-year grant-funded project to support debate in the Peoples Republic of China. These universities include: Hobart and William Smith Colleges in New York, Linfield College in Oregon, Seattle University and the University of Puget Sound in Washington, and Regis University in Colorado. The six universities, including Willamette University, joined with 380 universities in the PRC to create an informal network of colleges and universities that became known as the China Debate Education Network or CDEN. 


As the 3-year grant-funding comes to an end, CDEN will now be in the hands of the universities in the Peoples Republic of China. The PRC contact for CDEN is now Zeng Qingxi (also known as Tiger). If you have questions about the future of CDEN, contact him at


I have enjoyed my participation in debate in China and look forward to continued association with the friends and colleagues I made there. 


-- Robert Trapp