Willamette to be Honored by the Truman Foundation

Willamette has been notified that it has been designated to receive the Truman Foundation Honor Institution Award, which recognizes colleges and universities for exemplary participation in the Truman Scholarship program.

Selection was based on the following criteria:

  • Active encouragement of outstanding young people to pursue careers in public service
  • Sustained success in helping its students win Truman Scholarships
  • A Truman Scholar in 2000

The other recipients are: Oklahoma State University, University of Kansas, University of Minnesota, and University of Texas.

Over the years, Willamette has had eight Truman Scholars. Last year, Erik Van Hagen and Erin Dougherty were named Truman Scholars, and Courtney Gregoire won the award this year.

Arrangements will be made for Louis Blair, executive director of the Truman Foundation, to visit the campus for a formal presentation of the award later.