Willamette to Present Annual Leadership Award

Willamette University will present the Glenn L. Jackson Leadership Award to attorney Steven Corey, recognizing his extraordinary public and private leadership.

The award will be presented on Thursday, Oct. 5 at the Oregon Independent Colleges Association annual dinner. The Glenn L. Jackson Leadership Award was created by Willamette University and its Atkinson Graduate School of Management in 1984 to honor entrepreneurial leadership in the state of Oregon.

Corey has served on the Oregon Transportation Commission for the past six years and the Oregon Community Foundation Board of Directors for the past two years. In addition, he has been a leader in the Oregon Historical Society, Oregon Tourism Commission and the Oregon Trail Advisory Council. Corey is also a member of Willamette's Board of Trustees.

Previous Glenn L. Jackson award winners include: Gerry Frank, of Gerry's Frankly Speaking, 1984; Oran Robertson, of Fred Meyer, 1989; Michael Powell, of Powell Books, 1997; and Marty Brantley, of KPTV, 1998.