Spring 2008 Edition
Text Size:

2008 faculty awards announced

six faculty members were recognized at the annual faculty awards ceremony in January for their outstanding teaching and dedication.

Doug McGaughey

The Lawrence D. Cress Award for Excellence in Faculty Scholarship was awarded to Doug McGaughey, professor of religious studies. This award recognizes the important relationship between research and the undergraduate experience. McGaughey’s scholarly work includes many presentations and published articles as well as several books. He serves as executive secretary for the Pacific Northwest Region of the American Academy of Religion (AAR) and as a member of the national AAR board of directors.

Ann Nicgorski

The Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching was given to Ann Nicgorski, professor of art history, and Elliot Maltz, professor of marketing at the Atkinson Graduate School of Management. This award celebrates distinguished teaching and leadership. Nicgorski has introduced numerous new courses into the curriculum and helped to shape the course of study in her department. Her teaching reaches the wider community with events such as an international conference on cultural heritage issues. Maltz consistently receives high student evaluations and is also a productive researcher. He has taken the lead on planning the curriculum for Atkinson’s Early Career MBA and the MBA for Professionals

Dean Richardson Grant Thorsett

The United Methodist Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service was awarded to Dean Richardson, professor of law, and Grant Thorsett, professor of biology. This honor celebrates the extraordinary impact a professor can have both inside the classroom and in the larger community. Richardson, who joined the faculty in 1974, has introduced several new courses into the law curriculum and is a popular teacher due to his compassion for students. He has done a great deal of work to recruit students and faculty of color and to establish tutorial programs for minority students. Thorsett has been influential in the Willamette community for 40 years. His constant service and leadership helped to shape the academic environment of the campus, and many have commended his advising and mentoring of students. He also has worked with the Phi Beta Kappa chapter and the Oregon Academy of Science.

Emily Drew

Two professors were honored with Mortar Board Awards, chosen by Willamette students. The Professor of the Year award went to Emily Drew, assistant professor of sociology. The Richard Iltis Award for Lifetime Achievement went to Grant Thorsett for a lifetime of honorable service to Willamette, the community and his profession.