Willamette University

In Their Words

Getting to Know the 2013 Alumni Award Winners

We’re comforted that today’s graduates enter a community of accomplished, diligent and mindful alumni. Many readers will recognize the yearly awards (right), which are derived from alumni nominations and awarded by the Willamette University Alumni Association’s board of directors. We asked the same handful of questions to each of this year’s winners and picked some of our favorite responses. We hope you’re as excited to meet them as we were.

Nick Symmonds ’06 - Young Leadership Award

Leland "Rocky" Johnson ’70 - Lestle J. Sparks Medallion

Punit Renjen MM ’86 - Distinguished Alumni Citation

Tinh Mahoney ’86 - Distinguished Alumni Citation

Paula Casey ’69, JD ’72 - Distinguished Alumni Citation


The Awards

Young Alumni Leadership Award: Given for noteworthy contributions to communities, industries and causes within a short time of graduation

Lestle J. Sparks Medallion: Given for enduring commitment to the university, as embodied by one of our most revered alumni, Lestle J. Sparks ’19

Distinguished Alumni Citation: Given for exemplary performance or contribution in any field, cause or life pursuit