Willamette Announces Alumni Award Winners

Willamette University will honor 13 of its best and brightest at the annual Alumni Award Banquet to be held Saturday September 24, at the Grand Phoenix Hotel in Salem, Ore.

Five alumni will receive Young Alumni Leadership Awards that recognize graduates from the last 10 years who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their vocation, community service and/or service to the university. They are Claire (Howell) Bonilla '95, the global director of Microsoft Technology Centers in Redmond, Wash.; Laila J. Cook '98, manager of development for Make-A-Wish Foundation of Oregon in Portland, Ore.; Heather C. Dahl '95, managing editor of the Capitol Hill Bureau from Public Radio International in Washington D.C.; Jason Hunter '95, a senior engineer with Mark Logic in San Mateo, Calif., and publisher of and; and Jennifer Miller '97, MBA/JD'01, prosecuting attorney with the King County Prosecutors Office in Seattle.

Three outstanding alumni have been tapped to receive the Leslie J. Sparks Medallion, which recognizes graduates whose loyalty and service to the university best reflects the ideals of Leslie J. Sparks '19, one of the university's most devoted alumni. The honorees include Edward "Nick" Allis '70, Elizabeth Geiger Hartman '80 and John Jelderks '60/D'64.

The Distinguished Alumni Citations honor graduates who, in professional achievement and service to their communities, reflect the highest ideals of Willamette University. This year's Distinguished Alumni include Charles Carter '55, a practicing ophthalmologist for more than 32 years; Paul DeMuniz JD'75, Oregon Supreme Court Justice; Mary Jaeger '80, child advocate and executive director of CASA, a not-for-profit organization that provides community volunteers who advocate for children removed from abusive homes; Lisa Murkowski JD'85, U.S. Senator from Alaska and only the 33rd female to serve the United States Senate; and Sally Grimm Schaefer '55, a former school teacher who has given her time and talents over the past 40 years to a broad range of causes, from public schools, churches and the arts, to higher education, youth organizations and community social service groups.

Click on the name of honorees for more information.